

BCPP Joint Committee

Date of Meeting: 20th November 2019

Report Title: Election of Committee Chair and Vice-Chair

Nominations to Border to Coast Board

Report Author: Governance Sub Group Secretary – David Hayward

1.0 Executive Summary:

- 1.1 This report sets out the results of the election for the roles of Chair and Vice- Chair of the Joint Committee and the elections for nomination to the Board of Border to Coast for Non-Executive Directors to sit on the Company Board.
- 1.2 Elections for the Chair and Vice Chair of the Joint Committee and one of the nominations for the Non Executive Director role were held at the close of the 11th September Meeting of the Joint Committee. Subsequently an addition nomination process for a Non Executive Director was completed by means of a postal ballot.
- 1.3 Details of the successful candidates are set out in the body of this Report

2.0 Recommendation:

2.1 That Members note the results of the elections.

3.0 Chair and Vice Chair of the Joint Committee:

3.1 Councillor McMurdo (Bedfordshire) was re-elected as Chair of the Joint Committee. Councillor Evans (Surrey) was re-elected as Vice Chair.

4.0 Partner Fund Nominated Non-Executive Director:

- 4.1 At the end of the Joint Committee meeting on 11th September the members of the Joint Committee selected Cllr Holtby (East Riding) as their nomination for the vacant role as Non-Executive Director.
- 4.2 At the same meeting Cllr Ellis resigned from her position as a Non-Executive Director prior to the end of her term of office. Border to Coast requested that this additional vacancy was filled as soon as possible.
- 4.3 Consequently, the Joint Committee agreed that a further nomination process would be commenced and run by postal ballot in advance of the next meeting in November.
- 4.4 A postal ballot was subsequently held and Cllr Watson (Northumberland) was selected as a further nomination to the Company as a Non-Executive Director.

- 4.5 The two nominations to the Company Board will now be subject to approval by the FCA, appointment in principle by the Board and finally approval by the shareholders of the Company. This process has been commenced.
- 4.6 Cllr Holtby will serve for an initial two year term as he is filling the regular vacancy on the Company Board. Cllr Watson will serve an initial one year term being the unexpired period of the previous incumbent's appointment. Both of them will be eligible for re-selection at the end of their respective terms and the cycle of appointment will revert to a single appointment each year.

5.0 Election Cycle:

5.1 Members will recall that the election cycle was delayed this year whilst legal advice was sought as regards the declaration of interest and potential dispensations under the Localism Act. It was agreed that the elections next year (of Chair, Vice Chair and one Non Executive Director) would revert to the previous point in the committee cycle, taking place at the June meeting.

6.0 Conclusion:

6.1 That the Joint Committee has satisfactorily concluded its responsibilities in respect of electing its Chair and Vice-Chair and nominating suitable candidates as Non-Executive Directors of the Company Board.

Report Author:

David Hayward: David.Hayward@southtyneside.gov.uk